ADHD and Working Too Much:

Being a freelance writer has its perks. Some days I can honestly find an excuse to just sit and read for hours because I’ve done some work and the rest can wait. That’s not to say I’m lazy actually, I’m the opposite and here’s why.

Freelancing has its ups and downs. Sometimes I get enough work in to survive for the month, sometimes I don’t. That’s just the way being self-employed works so you have to hustle to make ends meet.

Some people, like myself, have a part-time job to make sure they have enough to survive that month. I work part-time in Waterstones and let me tell you it’s delightful. Spending a few days a week talking about, and being surrounded by books is bliss.

Unfortunately, like most people, I tend to say “yes” to an awful lot more than I’m capable of managing. I haven’t had a day off to chill out in the last couple of weeks, and I’m not likely to for another few days. It happens, sometimes you just end up working 7 days a week instead of 5.

The trouble with having ADHD when you’re this busy is that you feel you should dedicate 110% of your energy to whatever it is you’re doing. Then you get so engrossed in your current project that everything else falls to pieces.

It’s a delicate balancing act not unlike juggling jellyfish. If you focus on one jellyfish more than the others, you’re going to get hurt and so are the jellyfish.

The key (I think?) is to lay some ground rules and make allowances. For example, I’m no longer sticking to a strict blogging schedule because it just adds unnecessary stress (one jellyfish back in the sea).

I’ve cut back on my hours at the shop so I can refocus my business and I’m making myself have one day off a week. That doesn’t sound like a lot, but for me it is. It really is.

So how many jellyfish are you juggling? And how do you avoid getting stung?

3 thoughts on “ADHD and Working Too Much:

  1. If I may comment, what has worked for me is creating a list of things that I want to accomplish in a day, in a week, in a month, etc…

    Each time something comes up that “requires” my attention, I sit back and ask myself if it aligns with the things that I aim to achieve. If the answer is no, then no matter how painful it might be, I decline to give it any attention at all. While it may seem cutthroat and difficult to do, it is well worth it in the grand scheme of things.

    Thoughts?

    Like

Leave a Reply

